STICKS & STONES - Released  © 2017  Sigus Records
Kevin Lee is one of the originators and survivors from the era of massive major label signings that took place in Chicago in the early '90s when Smashing Pumpkins, Liz Phair, Veruca Salt, Fig Dish and Urge Overkill were scooped up and signed to big record deals. Even though the band had a cup of coffee with MCA records back in the age of Seinfield and Mad About You, he established himself as a songwriter who knew how to deliver big hooks with dueling guitars.

The title track meshes sweet '70s AM radio harmonies with a ripping Angus Young-ish riff from guitarist Michael Kurtz, while "Nothing To Lose" mines the best DNA from Off Broadway. Perhaps Lee's best moment on the record, the anthemic "On Top Of World Tonight" deftly blueprints some of the great power pop that's come from the midwest - Cheap Trick, The Insiders and Material Issue.

Two decades later Lee and the band including Kurtz, bassist Patty Prendergast, and drummer Erik Strommer tackle what they do best on their newest record - power pop in it's purest form, with bit of edge. There's nothing groundbreaking for longtime fans, Lee and the Kings stick to what they know best. As an added bonus, live versions of Sticks and Stones are even edgier than on the record - making the band a great listen both on record and in a live setting.
Appearing 10/21 at MT Barrels, Schaumburg

- Mike McKewon, Illinois Entertainer - October 2017 Issue

BREAKOUT - Released  © 2013  Sigus Records
Kevin Lee & The Kings lean on the rockier side of Power Pop with some chunky guitars, big hooks and driving beats pushing the songs forward nicely and are great to rock out to.

The songs on the album are extremely well written and produced to a very high standard and sometimes move at a pace that may make you think the songs are about something other than heart break, however, listening to the lyrics, these are very much songs of loss, love and despair.
They say an artist has to suffer for their art, and to produce an album like "Breakout," with its lyrical content, you can only imagine, but as far as producing a top quality album with some really touching, meaningful lyrics, Kevin Lee has certainly achieved that and we have gained an album of songs written with real passion and sincerity, not to mention energy. On "Breakout" Kevin Lee and The Kings create classic, strong guitar rock/power pop with a modern edge.  The rebellious "Burn it Down" gives listeners the confidence to face whatever life throws at them. And, from "Gold Digger" with it's quirky low-key verse to the ultra catchy "Too Little Too Late," Lee's songs stay in your head and keep you coming back for more.   

- Wayne Lundqvist Ford, Ice Cream Man Powerpop

DUSK TILL DAWN - Released  © 2010 Sigus Records
If Kevin Lee & The Kings already sound familiar, that’s because the leader was previously in charge of The Lonesome City Kings, who were once inked to MCA. As a guitar-charged rocker that falls somewhere between Rick Springfield and Cheap Trick wrapped around the production of Rick Barnes (Smashing Pumpkins, George Clinton), he’s far above the typical indie act and continually connects with gusty ditties.

- Andy Argyrakis,  Illinois Entertainer

FLIP THE SWITCH - Released © 2006 Sigus Records
Singer/guitarist Kevin Lee is performing at full power on the aptly titled Flip The Switch. An experienced power pop composer, he packs each of these 10 songs with hooks, and he has the pipes to put them across. Former Thrift Store Halo guitarist Brent Seatter helps fuel the energetic tracks like "Built To Burn" and "She's On Fire." "Won't Shed A Tear," one of Lee's better slow tunes, recalls Electric Light Orchestra. (www.kevinleeonline.com) 

- Terrence Flamm/Illinois Entertainer

LOADED - Released © 2002 Big Blast Records, Chicago
Kevin Lee and the Lonesome City Kings released an album called "Restless" in the early 90's. Well now Kevin is back with a brand new solo album that is filled with great high-quality melodic Midwestern pop/rock with touches of AOR of in the veins of Cheap Trick and Matchbox Twenty. The album opens up with a fantastic rocker ala Cheap Trick called "Where Do We Go From Here", this song has great guitar riffs mixed with brilliant hooklines and melodies that hits you right away. This song gives you a hint what this album is all about. The mid-tempo song "Find A Way" with some Beatles influences mixed and sounds great, it has almost a balladish feel over it. One of the highlights on the album is the romantic ballad "Right Here With Me", this is a wonderful song with superb vocals. This is a modern AOR ballad with class. The straight-ahead rocker "Down" is pure melodic rock heaven. This song has it all, monster hooks, catchy chorus and guitars that won't keep you sit still. The word is AWESOME. "Without You" is a great acoustic ballad. "Shameless" is a heavier pop/rock tune in the same vein as "Down", the chorus is a winner. This is a great modern rock song that should please any fan of the modern rock field. This is a album filled with crunching guitars, catchy hooklines, superb vocals from Mr. Lee and last but not least the melodies are all over this album. If you into the modern pop/rock world then "Loaded" is a album you should check out right away. Many of the songs has radio written all over them.

Check out Kevin Lee at www.kevinleeonline.com and discover this brilliant artist. 

- Juha Harjula, Melodic.net

​WALK A MILE IN MY SHOES - Released © 1998
This is really infectious stuff. Walk A Mile In My Shoes has the kind of songs that instantly find a home in your head. These are the kind of songs you'll be humming for weeks.

- Tom Lounges The Times/N.W. Indiana



  • Kevin Lee & The Kings were named one of 2018's Best Local Artists by the Illinois Entertainer Magazine.

  • Kevin Lee's song "Tonight" was a featured song in the 2016 baseball odyssey movie "Spaceman" starring Josh Duhamel and W. Earl Brown.